Grouchy man emerging for breakfast.

jaizei

Unknown Member
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Earth
Thank you! I totally understand this now. So I can also understand why people insist that, for example, Sulcata tortoises should be kept on sand, being "desert" tortoises!? So the case for Egyptian tortoises to be kept on oyster shell in either crushed or "rocks" form, is based on flawed "tradition"!?

I don't have experience with them so I can't say that it's flawed, but it does seem to be following the same path as other species. (no humidity, humid hide, humidity is ok/good as long as substrate isn't soaking wet on top)

soil type substrates seem to be more common in Europe instead of the oyster shell.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
I am not an expert by any means but what I understand from all of my research is that many very long time successful keepers and breeders of Egyptian tortoises keep them on crushed oyster shell. Many of us who are new keepers are learning from and replicating their success. I haven’t heard of any long term successful keepers keeping them on orchid bark while I know that is used very successfully for many other tortoises. I hope we hear from some of the long term Egyptian keepers in this thread.
The use of Orchid bark as a preferred substrate has been gathering momentum. But it's still relatively new as far as being recommended by the collective here.
(Relatively)
Out there on the internet, they're still blabbing about play sand, etc.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.