Greek Tortoise Not very Active but Eats regularly

ralzain

Location (City and/or State)
Riyadh
Hello Everyone,

I joined the forum a while back but this is my first time posting.

This will be a long and detailed post, hope you can bear with me!

I got a Greek tortoise from a pet shop back in January, I called her Nina. I don’t know how old she is, because pet shops here in Saudi Arabia aren’t exactly a great source of information. In any case, currently her length is around 6 inches, and she weighs around 620-630 grams.

I used to house Nina in a smaller enclosure but I realized that the space wasn’t enough for her so I moved her to a bigger indoor enclosure a few months ago (can’t do outdoor since I live in an apartment building). The issue that I am writing about is that Nina gets up in the morning, at around 8 am, she looks for food, I usually put the food for her before leaving for work. She eats then immediately goes back into her hide (the little castle in the corner of the enclosure) for the rest of the day until the next morning. This keeps on happening everyday, so in total she will spend around 20-30 minutes max outside of her hide to eat then goes back in.

The only time she will go out multiple times is if I don’t put food for that day, then she will go out 2 or 3 times, look for food for around 15-20 minutes each time, then go back to her hide once she realizes there is no food. So in other words, she doesn’t do much walking around or exploring in general if she finds food the first time, otherwise she will go out 2 or 3 different times for a bit then goes back to her hide.

Here is some info about her enclosure:

-it is 5.7 by 3.4 feet (so total of 19.6 square feet), the height is 13.7 inches (1.14 feet)

-The substrate is a mix of fir bark (zoo med repti bark) and coconut coir