Diff btwn the care of Aldabra/Sulcata

Status
Not open for further replies.

MORTYtheTORTY

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Cali
Hello everyone,
I'm still a newbie about the Sulcata but was very interested in Aldabra's for future reference...What's the difference in caring for a Aldabra as opposed to a Sulcata? Is their diet the same as adults and is their enclosure the same as hatchlings such as diet and temp? Just wondering how much big a difference there is in care.

Please don't try to respond about responsibility or treat me as if I don't know what I'm doing. I own my own home and just a newbie at torts is all. I've dealt with numerous Animals all my life and barely getting into torts now, thank you and any answer is GREATLY appreciated =D

MORTYtheTORTY

5 Year Member
Cali
I know right! HAHAHAHA I've been emailing him but still awaiting response.

GeoTerraTestudo

5 Year Member
Broomfield, Colorado
I have never kept either species, but I can get the ball rolling.

For one thing, the Aldabra is tied for first place with the Galapagos as the largest tortoise species alive today (up to 500 lbs, and occasionally up to 800 lbs). The sulcata, although it is the largest continental tortoise, does not get nearly that big: "only" about 200-250 lbs, max. For context, that's like the difference in weight between a grizzly bear and a mastiff. Big difference!

As for climate, Aldabras (and Galapagos) come from humid, tropical, oceanic islands, while sulcatas come from Africa's tropical Sahel, a region just south of the Sahara that ranges from semi-arid subdesert to more humid grasslands and savannas.

Both species eat leafy greens like other tortoises, but are also large enough to digest grasses in significant quantities. However, I do not know how the proportion of grass in the diet differs between the two species.