Deciding on first tortoise species

feister47

Hello,

So I recently was (and still am) interested in getting a tortoise. I've done my research, and have narrowed down my choices to a Greek or a Red foot. I have been keeping lizards and amphibians for about 4 years now. I have all the resources and the yardspace, and I'm sure my beardie wont mind giving up some of the weeds out back. I live in southern Ohio (Cincinnati), and I would like to keep my tort outside for most of the year, and bring it in during the winter. Price is not an issue. So what would be better first tort? The biggest indoor enclosure I can provide is about 7x2 feet, preferably a little smaller, as I do not have a lot of space in my reptile room, but I'm sure I could do some shifting and such.

Thanks

FLINTUS

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Watery Wiltshire in the UK
7 by 2 isn't a big space-you won't be able to keep either species inside for a long time inside that, with the exception of a couple of graeca subspecies.
Am I right in thinking that you have hot and wet summers and cold winters? While your summer suits red foots perfectly, I'd go with the graeca as you can hibernate it over winter, whereas that space is too small to keep an adult red foot for 4-5 months.

feister47

Okay. What would be a suitable size for an adult red foot during winter months. My dad is an architect so I'm sure that I could ask him to help with the building. Maybe 8x4? All my animals live in the basement, and we dont use it for things such as parties a lot, so I could try to get them to move some stuff, and then maybe an 8x4 would fit. You got our weather spot on.

crimson_lotus

10 Year Member!
Massachusetts