Crush & Ashley :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffanyluvstorts

5 Year Member
Hi ya'll! I'm new to write here but not new to read posts. We bought two female Russians about 3 weeks ago and at the pet store they told me to feed them this dry vegetable stuff. Well after several days in their new habitat and taking time to adjust they wouldn't touch that stuff. I started trying Kale, Romaine, spring mix, etc and they ate but def aren't making pigs of themselves. I was told to leave their separate bowls in there for no more than 30 minutes or they would graze all day and after dark they could not digest their food. Well, sometimes they won't touch their food at all. Just wondering if this is normal behavior for a russian. I finally found a reptile vet close to our area and will be taking them soon for a fecal to make certain they are parasite
Free. I'm just scared they aren't eating enough! Thoughts?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Most of the stuff the pet store told you is wrong. Toss that out of your head and follow the advice on here. Leave the food in all day. Not sure what food they told you too use, but they need a much wider variety then just pellets anyway. You can remove the food once they go to bed, they won't munch at night anyway.
Now, what kind of substrate, lighting, heating, humdity, temps, post a pic of their enclosure and give us the answers to above questions and we can help you do better then the store told you to do.

tiffanyluvstorts

5 Year Member