1. Welcome! Are you interested in tortoises? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our community is the #1 place for tortoise keepers to talk online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your tortoise and enclosure, and discuss any tortoise topic with other tortoise keepers. Get started today!

Beak and claw trimming - Leopard.

Discussion in 'Tortoise Health' started by Bev Reeve-Robinson, Feb 7, 2017.

1. Bev Reeve-Robinson

Bev Reeve-Robinson New Member

Hi all. Does anyone have some tips for trimming beaks and claws? In particular back claws? I'm relatively new to this although I've trimmed our torts beak once, and have always been our pet claw trimmer (cat, rat, ferret, iguana, etc). I've seen someone use a Dremel to file down the beak, I don't think I'm quite at that stage yet, the beak isn't as long or thick to need that so I think my usual clippers will go through safely. How long should I leave the beak? I'm most concerned about how to trim some rather overgrown back claws. Last thing I want to do is hurt them, but you really can't see the quick (which is why I've been putting of trimming them, probably why they've gotten overgrown if I'm honest). Any tips or tricks very gratefully recieved. I would normally go to our vet of course, but travelling has been a bit of an issue as he's more than 36 miles away and I really don't trust any local vets.

Bev x (with Pie and Pastie)
  2. wellington

wellington Well-Known Member Moderator 5 Year Member

(These ads do not appear for registered members.)
    Can you post a pic of the nails and beak. Some times people think they need to be trimmed when they really don't. Their nails are long to begin with. Not shorter like dogs and cats. A flat hard surface such as a piece of tile or flat rock used as a feeding dish will help keep both nails and beak filed down. As adding flat rocks for them to walk on.