2yr old hermann has had heat lamp on all night for last year

CBill

Location (City and/or State)
London
Hi there,
I would be very grateful if anyone can advise me. I am a total beginner when it comes to tortoise care and I'm looking after a two year old hermann tortoise for the next six months. She has been living in a (woodchip filled) vivarium for the last year with a heat lamp on 24hrs a day and a UV lamp during the day. She has essentially been hot and as a result in the light 24hrs a day as the heat lamp also gives off light. This seemed unnatural so I did a bit of research and from what I understand she should have darkness and a drop in temperature at night. (I was also concerned about air flow in the vivarium so I've drilled a couple of extra holes as we have a cat so I can't leave the top open.) I'm worried about changing things suddenly so I have started with 4 hours dark and no heat lamp at night but this morning she seemed very cold and slow. She perked up later in the day but I am obviously very anxious not to make her ill, particularly as she is still very small and we're heading into winter. Any recommendations much appreciated. Warm wishes, Chloe

Bee62

Germany
Hi there,