what to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ted

5 Year Member
I'm new to tortoises' so i could use a little help with the reaseach on what best suits me and my sitiuation... i live in mn so outside isn't really an optioin for most of the year. i can't see havin one that is going to get huge cause he or she just wouldn't be happy in the house i'm guessin. i have a 2yr old son too. i would definatly be willing to make an enclosure in the house for one just not sure on all the breeds and such. just need to make sure i know what i'm getting into befor a jump in. any advice would be much apperciated. Thanks!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
I usually recommend two tortoises for indoors, Russians and Redfoots.

The Russian tortoise doesn't get very big and is a pretty personable tortoise. Becomes a "pet" in no time at all. You WILL need to buy an expensive UVB light, though, in order to keep him healthy and good bones and shell.

The Redfoot gets a bit bigger and will require a pretty good-sized indoor habitat during the winter months, but he will get his Vitamin d3 from his food and won't need a heavy-duty UVB light, and you can get by with one of the lesser-output UV lights for him. They also become pretty tamed and personable.

So, look around our different forums and see the pictures we've put up of our habitats and see what might fit in with your life style.

Ted

5 Year Member
what are we talking for size, of the redfoot or russian? what about box turtles?

terryo

10 Year Member!
Staten Island, New York
Ted said:
what are we talking for size, of the redfoot or russian? what about box turtles?
I have a Redfoot and also a few box turtles. I really don't know anything about the Russian Tortoise.