the general tortoise and the wall issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

turtlelover2495

5 Year Member
so my new redfoot tortoise i bought 3 days ago now is fascinated with trying to walk thru the wall. any way to try and stop this issue. i heard its means its probably stressed out. the habitats temp isnt right or its to small. im thinking its the habitat some recently told me my habitat is to small so thats why i am going to use my tv stand. im a beginner tortoise owner.

if you want to see enclosure setup it looks like this:
Coco the redfoot tortoise

my tv stand looks like this and is this big:
Tv stand for tortoise

Laurie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Saratoga County, New York
Hmmm, I'm not sure what to suggest here, but I will try! First, you need to know four different temps, basking temp, cool temp, night temp and ambient temp. I don't really know much about redfoots, but I would imagine wrong temps could cause stress. It's hard to judge size by your video.

There is one thing I can offer, it seems from your video, the surface is pretty reflective. Maybe he is seeing himself? Also, only having him for three days, maybe he's still settling in? Just my thoughts... I'm sure others will help :)

EKLC

5 Year Member
If your temps are fine, I'd add some plants (fake or real) to block your tort's line of sight and give him/her a better sense of being in a secure environment

ascott

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Apple Valley, California
Hi! I have looked at a bit of your prior threads, what a lovely little redfoot :D

So, the first thing that jumped out at me...or two or three :p

How deep is your substrate? I would have it at least 4 to 6 inches deep.
How long is the floor space of your enclosure? I would say at least a 55 gallon rubbermaid tub would work for awhile.