Sleeping or sick?

doletorts

10 Year Member!
Hi i got a red footed tortoise today and we brought her home, finished a few things in her cage and then put her in. For the first hour or so she was fine and active and eating, but for the past 4 hours she has just sat under her log, i cant tell if she's asleep or if she's awake and not moving. I took her out twice and set her in the middle of the cage and she moved some but just went back under the log and sits. I don't know if she's sleepy or sick or just getting used to my house as opposed to the store. Please help

Sheldon the russian tortoise

5 Year Member
My tort did the same thing i am no expert but it helped for me when I took him outside and let him walk around my yard... Also in the cold weather torts are usualy less active

doletorts

10 Year Member!
I would love to take her outside but I'm in northern Illinois and temps are low now. Thanks for the tip though. Im just worried cuz when i brought her home she was fine but after a while she kinda stopped. Im hoping shes just tired

Watsonpartyof4

5 Year Member
doletorts said:
Hi i got a red footed tortoise today and we brought her home, finished a few things in her cage and then put her in. For the first hour or so she was fine and active and eating, but for the past 4 hours she has just sat under her log, i cant tell if she's asleep or if she's awake and not moving. I took her out twice and set her in the middle of the cage and she moved some but just went back under the log and sits. I don't know if she's sleepy or sick or just getting used to my house as opposed to the store. Please help