Shell rot?

Janel Iglesias

20170219_135544.jpg 20170219_135508.jpg Hi, newbie here. It appears that our baby Marginated has something happening to his plastron, upper area. Though I've done a lot of research, unsure if it's shell rot.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Odd place for shell rot. I would try some antifungal cream on it like you would use for athletes foot. Keep it clean and dry except the cream. Keep top layer of substrate dry. When you give a soak, dry that area. Keep an eye on it an see if it gets bigger, worse or better with the antifungal cream. The heel slow so don't expect to be gone in a week or so.
@Yvonne G may have an idea

Janel Iglesias

Hmm...I currently have him on paper towel after scrubbing that area with Betadine. Will get some antifungal cream and try that as well. Thanks for your input!

Janel Iglesias

That doesn't look too much like shell rot. But the athletes foot cream wont do any harm.
It looks like a healing bite wound.
You don't have two tortoises do you?
I did have two in same enclosure, up until this weekend. Separated after suspecting shell rot. So much to learn! Thank you.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
In that case I'd just keep it clean and maybe wipe a small little dab of antibiotic ointment on it.
Just a small smear because it's close to the mouth, etc.

Janel Iglesias

In that case I'd just keep it clean and maybe wipe a small little dab of antibiotic ointment on it.
Just a small smear because it's close to the mouth, etc.