Pet store torts - yay or nay?

Status
Not open for further replies.

barefootpoetry

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
I'm sure this has been asked before, but hey, I'm a newbie, I'm allowed to ask annoying questions. :p I've heard debate that's it's not a good idea to buy a tort from a pet store - why or why not? I have no vested interest in either side, I'm just curious.

Meg90

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
WI
NAY.

They only carry WC animals (wild caught) and these animals are always stressed, and can come with some horrible diseases and parasites.

nay.

Millerlite

10 Year Member!
Southern Calif.
Not all petshops carry WC animals, all the big ones, petco, petsmarts do, but some local ones, or smaller ones might get tortoises from breeders. But best bet is getting one from a breeder.

Meg90

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
WI
A lot of petshops too, if they don't get wild caught, they will get farmed animals, which is one step above. These shops get their animals from suppliers, and suppliers are only in it to make money. I've seen some real cuties at the petstores, but I don't buy them

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Yay. I myself like the fact you hand see what your getting and do a hands on check of them, something you can't do online. At a show you have the same chance, but not a lot of time to think things over, so shows tend to be more impulse shopping. Ideal of course, would be an in person visit to a breeder.

I myself have no qualms with it being WC. The animal is already lost to it's native home, why also lose it's genes? Would much rather see it going to a home with proper care where it might thrive and reproduce, which may then lead to less being needed WC.