Once Tortotise have lived in a group, can they live solo?

Status
Not open for further replies.

A Poet Called Anya

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Chicopee, MA
Hello,

I just adopted three Russian tortoise from someone wanting to rehome them. It was all three or none. (Even though each had its own price.) And I really wanted the large active female. So after thinking about it, I decided to get them. Thinking I could always rehome the male if things did not work out.

There are two females and one male.
Female One - about 6x6
Female Two - about 5x5
Male - about 4x4

The large females bullies the male and mounts him. He is very shy, has to be feed separately (or he just hides in his shell and will not eat), and not very active. She also bullies the other females but the other female does not seem to care. Almost like she ignores her. I also do not want them to breed. I am not experienced enough nor do I want the responsibility.

So my question is... I want to rehome him and maybe the small female. He has been with them for a year or so and the females have been together for a few years (she said). Will she and he be effected if she and he are rehomed to a home where she and he are the only tortoise? Since getting a whole other set up for the male and having him live solo would be the same as rehoming.

PeanutbuttER

5 Year Member
Utah
If they've been together for that long it's possible that both the females have already bred with the male. You may end up getting hatchlings if you keep one of the females. Well, maybe not, 4'' is pretty small to be sexually mature. I'm guessing these are russians?

They should be fine once they're separated. You might notice some "moping" behavior for a few days, but after that they'll be fine.

A Poet Called Anya

5 Year Member
Chicopee, MA
PeanutbuttER said: