New Tortoise Timothy

Cwarring85

Location (City and/or State)
Florida
Hi everyone.
I am new to the tortoise keeping world and was wondering if you all could help. Tortoises have always been my favorite animal and I have always wanted one. My wife and I were at a big box pet store the other night and saw a tortoise for sale. Now normally I don't buy from big box stores but he was adorable and looked so sad in his little enclosure so we decided to buy him to give him a better life. We were told he was a Hermanns Tortoise and was around a year old. I took what the guy said with a grain of salt but was wondering if anyone could confirm his breed and possible age? His shell is about 5.5 inches long. I don't have his weight. Any help would be greatly appreciated. 1000009648.jpg1000009585.jpg

SinLA

Tortoise Club
Los Angeles
I'll let others much more knowledgeable than me start, other than than to say everything the pet store told you is likely wrong. This is a DENSE article but worth reading:

Can you provide photos of your lighting, heating and the whole setup. What are you using for substrait?

I will tell you that a single 2x3 "tortoise house" is jut a marketing thing, they are not fit to keep either adult or baby tortoises in. you will need a much much larger space for an adult tortoise.

I will say his shell looks really good so that's good...

Cwarring85

Florida
I'll let others much more knowledgeable than me start, other than than to say everything the pet store told you is likely wrong. This is a DENSE article but worth reading:

Can you provide photos of your lighting, heating and the whole setup. What are you using for substrait?

I will tell you that a single 2x3 "tortoise house" is jut a marketing thing, they are not fit to keep either adult or baby tortoises in. you will need a much much larger space for an adult tortoise.

I will say his shell looks really good so that's good...