NEW SULCATA TORTOISE

Status
Not open for further replies.

CELLMASS

5 Year Member
hey guys..... new to the forum. just recieved a desert tortoise as a gift about a week ago. im completely new to torts but not to reptiles. i have him/her in a 12'x16' outdoor enclosure. he will have free roam of the whole yard once he/she gets a little bigger.

anyways i was wondering if the seasoned owners could give me some insight. anything would be appreciated. thnx in advance.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
RE: NEW DT

Hi Cellmass:

(May we know your name?)

783626k4h01kxwcg.jpg
to the forum!!

Desert tortoises are great tortoises! So people oriented. How old/big is your tortoise?

Best diet is weeds and grasses. If that's not possible, then dark, leafy greens from the store.

Sink a plant pot saucer into the ground for water.

A nice hiding place to get out of the weather.

Plenty of sun for basking, but shade too so he doesn't overheat.

And pictures...pictures...pictures!!!

CELLMASS

5 Year Member

116.JPGmy real name is russell

he is 2 years young....... and maybe 7-8 inch. i do plan on growing cacti and other desert plants in his enclosure. we live in arizona, the sonoran desert, so i guess he should be fine outside.

Last edited by a moderator:

spikethebest

10 Year Member!
Southern California

CELLMASS said:
my real name is russell

he is 2 years young....... and maybe 7-8 inch. i do plan on growing cacti and other desert plants in his enclosure. we live in arizona, the sonoran desert, so i guess he should be fine outside.

what kind of plants are you going to grow?

I grow these...

Eriogonum fasciculatum, (California Buckwheat)
Sphaeralcea ambigua, (Apricot Mallow)
Salvia columbariae, (Chia)
Lasthenia californica, (Goldfields)
Nassella cernua, (Nodding Needlegrass)
Castilleja exserta, (Ornate Owl's Clover)

CELLMASS

5 Year Member

definetly a prickly pear. and some grass.