New owner hermans tortoise

Karen restell

IMG_1365.JPG Hi I am recently new owner of hermans tortoise his four years old .his name is Sheldon . I am a beginner not had tortoise since a child. I have been reading so much different information will need help

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
Hi! *waves* Welcome. What made you decide to get a tortoise?

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Hello and welcome to TFO Karen and Sheldon from Kent, UK.

Knowledge and understanding about the correct care for tortoises has advanced rapidly in recent years, so you'll probably find a few things have changed.

Species experts on TFO have been kind enough to write up their experience and knowledge, so I'd recommend you reading these for accurate and up-to-date information:)

Beginner Mistakes
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Hermann's Care
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/sticky-hermanns-tortoise-care-sheet-updated.101410/

Karen restell

Thank you will read these , he lives in varium I put him outside much as possible, will get outside house for spring, he is 4 and always lived in this previous owner didn't have enough time take care of him but he was well looked after and loves attention

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Thank you will read these , he lives in varium I put him outside much as possible, will get outside house for spring, he is 4 and always lived in this previous owner didn't have enough time take care of him but he was well looked after and loves attention
How big is the vivararium Karen?

They're generally too small for anything other than hatchlings.

If you want to post pictures of the viv and the lighting then we can help you perfect it for Sheldon.

Pictures of Sheldon are welcome too... we love pictures:)

Karen restell