New Hermanns Owner

Status
Not open for further replies.

pan1k

10 Year Member!
New Tortoise Owner.. Questions!!

After much, much reading I purchased a Hermann's Tortoise.

I have a ZooMed tortoise house, jungle mix substrate w/ sphagnum on top for hiding spots, about 1" in the main compartment and 2" in the hide box. Zoomed MVB bulb also.

I have been soaking Mr. Tibbs daily, he just started eating last night when we got him in the tortoise house. I read dehydration is easy for the hatchlings, I think he is about 14 weeks old.

Will he become more active? Right now, he likes to burrow. He's still breathing heavy when I am around. I understand he is scared. Every morning I dig him up and put him under the uvb bulb, this morning he stayed a bit off to the side in the sphagnum. Getting him to eat is hard too! I am feeding kale, spinach and tortoise food with the majority of it greens. Should I just leave food in the dish until he starts eating regularly?

I'm new to tortoises, I want Mr. Tibbs to feel a bit more at home!

pan1k

10 Year Member!
Hey Guys, got a new 16 week old Hermanns.

I think it's scared, its breathing heavily whenever I am near it. It's not eating well, It took a few nibbles of some kale and tortoise pellets.

I have been soaking it daily to prevent dehydration. It likes to burrow, I have 1" of substrate in the main compartment and 2" in the hide house (Zoomed Tortoise House).

Is this behavior normal for a new hatchling? I put it out under the MVB in the mornings. Going to pick up a spray bottle so I can mist the substrate in the mornings.

I want Mr. Tibbs to feel at home! i have had him for 2 days now. I know it needs time to adjust. But I am worried about the eating part, since I heard they love to eat! Should I just leave food in the dish for the time being?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi pan1k:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!