My little baby star!

Status
Not open for further replies.

min

5 Year Member
Hi guys, I'm new to this. I have a little baby star and have had him for 6 days now! He's great, been feeding so well and isn't too shy which is fantastic. But today he seemed a little different, he didn't eat much and has dug into the substrate in the corner, I believed stars were non diggers!!! Has anyone else seen any similar behaviour in their star?!?
Thanks guys

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi min and welcome to the Forum!

Could be any one of a dozen reasons...is your light too bright...is it warm enough...we'll need much more info in order to help you.

Neal

10 Year Member!
Arizona
Most small tortoises will dig themselves down a little in the substrate. But like Yvonne said, it could be a number of reasons. Could you give us some details on how you're keeping him? Pictures would tell a thousand words.

min

5 Year Member
Thanks guys, I will post a piccy in a min when I turn his lights on. I have a wood chip substrate and have noticed a lot of stars on here have more of a dirt substrate. Ill get a pic up, thanks for your opinions, much appreciated :)
image-1673067593.png

This is my set up, it's a plastic tank with grills at the top, I have a 60w bulb and a Arcadia d3 reptile light, he has wood chip for substrate and his lights are on 8-8 and heat mat over night 8-8. I spray him around 5pm before he eats, I'm feeding him rocket, cress, lambs lettuce, kale and carrots and courgette for treats at the moment. I haven't soaked him at all as I wasn't told this was a must. His humidity ranges from 30-70 (higher over night after spraying) he's been trained so that the spray tells him it's dinner time. Any advice is much appreciated :)

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA