Larry:Our Desert Tortoise Child =)

kibog

Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
Hi Everyone! I am new to the tortoise forum. My husband & I just became custodians of a 9lb desert tortoise in Septemeber 2013. Our tortoise is named Larry. :tort:

Poor Larry has been through the ringer. Our first day home with him he started blowing bubbles out of his nose. This went on the next day too, so off to the vet we go. Turned out, Larry has a lung and sinus infection so unfortunately antibiotics it was.

The lung/nasal infection cleared up after about a month and a half. THEN we noticed Larry's back leg was starting to swell. Yep, back to vet. This time he has an abscess in his leg. You guessed it, more antibiotics. :(

That took about two months to clear up completely. THEN only a few weeks later, Larry was in his borrow digging and we think he tore a muscle causing complete and utter front left leg paralysis. They were talking amputation and my heart just broke into a million pieces. It has been 6 months and Larry has regained about 30% movement. I'm so worried for him. I pray he regains his full range of motion and strength. I know tortoises take longer to heal than humans, but it seems it has been a long time already. The poor boy has to slide around our backyard. The good news is he is still eating and he is extremely loved. I just want him to be happy and healthy and he has not had that chance since 10 months ago when we got him.

I am here to learn as much as I can about the desert tortoise and do what I can to make Larry happy and and as healthy as he can be. I look forward to reading about anyone else who has had similar problems with their tortoise.
:rolleyes:
Thank you everyone! So happy to be here, thanks for reading!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!