I am looking for a tortoise for northern Virginia

devontortoise

Location (City and/or State)
McLean Virginia
Hi!! I am new here. I have been looking for a tortoise, i am a beginner, i have no experience with tortoises but I have had many pets. I live in Northern Virginia and I want a tortoise that will go outside when possible. I have done research but not in any specific one. I know people on this website have experience so I would really appreciate some advice!! Thank you!!!

jsheffield

5 Year Member
Westmoreland, NH
I would suggest reading through the species specific forums here on TFO.

I live with three species of tortoise, Redfoot, Russian, and Black Mountain, and the one (of those) I'd recommend for a first-timer is a Russian... they're hardy and personable and pretty easy to find in pet stores or on Craigslist (where two of mine have come from as rescues).

Obviously, there are lots of kinds of tortoises, and your lifestyle or taste may differ from mine, so take your time looking through the threads and pictures before taking the plunge.

This is a great place to learn about tortoise... there are a ton of knowledgable people here (I'm not one of them, just an interested amateur) who can help you make a good home for your new tortoise.

Jamie

devontortoise

McLean Virginia
I would suggest reading through the species specific forums here on TFO.

I live with three species of tortoise, Redfoot, Russian, and Black Mountain, and the one (of those) I'd recommend for a first-timer is a Russian... they're hardy and personable and pretty easy to find in pet stores or on Craigslist (where two of mine have come from as rescues).

Obviously, there are lots of kinds of tortoises, and your lifestyle or taste may differ from mine, so take your time looking through the threads and pictures before taking the plunge.