Howdy from MO!

Kallie

Location (City and/or State)
Southwest Missouri
Hello, everyone! I'm from Southwest Missouri. I am a nontraditional college student. I have a redfoot tortoise named Bogota. She was hatched roughly August 2013. She's still a little girl but she's at least doubled her size since I got her. My profile photo was taken today and I also have a video of her eating in my album that is open to members. The video was about 2 months after I got her. I think torts eating is probably the cutest thing ever. Oh and torts yawning. SO CUTE.

Personality

Before I took the photo this morning she was napping so she wasn't too thrilled with me. Usually though, she's super friendly and loves people. When I get close to her vivarium she comes to the front of the glass and will sometimes hold a foot up in the air. When she does that I pick her up and she seems pretty happy about it. She's a bit sassy.. how I know this, I'm not sure, but she is.

Diet

She's a happy little piggy that LOVES deep green romaine leaves and mangoes. She also likes carrots, dandelion greens, nasturtiums, mild tomatoes (on occasion), and guava. She's picky about eating any protein besides hydrated low-fat cat food >.< it's not ideal I know. I have to roll worms around in mango or tomato juice to get her eat them. Even then, when they wriggle it freaks her out ( Advice welcomed here!). She does LOVE slugs, though. I can only find them during spring/fall. She also gets small chunks of calcium cuttle bones that she can munch on at her leisure.

The Vivarium