How to "un" hibernate

swatsx

5 Year Member
Long story short I had to use a low watt bulb for a few weeks and now even with a high watt bulb my Russian girl just wants to hibernate how can I get her to stop every few days I take her out, hot bath, she eats and basks all day but then boom back to sleep for a few days. Can I break her of this? Or should I go back to a lower watt bulb and less food for a month or so till she gets it out of her system them slowly increase time of light now it's 10 on 14 off her basking temp is like 105 cool end is 78

otisthetortoise

5 Year Member
Hi,
I'm no expert on hibernation or Russians, but I have a Hermann's hatchling and Hermann's are very similar to your tort species.
May I ask what age your tortoise is? If she is a hatchling, then they do sleep a lot, but not for days... bear in mind that it is the winter months, and depending on where you live, it is getting colder. Naturally, the tortoise slows down and sleeps more frequently as it's simply its body clock.
Do not hesitate to wake your tort in the morning, midday, etcetera, to make sure she is eating and basking and walking around. My Hermann's, Otis, even when woken at 8am will not be active till around 10am! I bathe her in lukewarm water for around 15min and give her some new food. Sometimes, I have to place her in front of it for her to actually take notice - she's a lazy one! :)
Your temperatures under the basking lamp should be 30-35 degrees Celsius, the cool end 18-22, at least that works for me.
Your basking temp sounds pretty hot to me. Is there any way of lowering it with your high watt bulb? What was the temp of your previous one (ideally should be around 90F).
Basically she shouldn't be basking constantly, just a healthy amount each day. Pick her up and move her from the lamp if necessary.