Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

erikacs

5 Year Member
Hi My name is Erika and I just bought a baby Sulcata Tortoise (Corneilius) last Friday. I have him in 100% Fir substrate. I'm brand new to owning a tortoise and have a few concerns. Often time Corneilius makes a little squeak noise. He bobs his head a little bit and in the light I can sometimes see that he blows bubbles out of his nose, but most of the time it is dry. His eyes also look a little darker than when I bought him, but he hasn't lost his appetite; he eats grass and mostly clover all day in my backyard and when it's starting to get dark I bring him in and have him under a 100 watt heat lamp. He runs laps outside and in his tank so he's very energetic and I've soaked him 3-4 times since I bought him. I also put cuttlebone powder on his food and he has a little hide box in his tank that has a wet sponge on top incase he gets dehydrated. I'm very concerned about his nose and his squeaking and his head bobbing and would really appreciate someone's advice. I have no money to take him to a vet! Please help, thanks!!!

M

Maggie Cummings

It sounds to me like an Upper Respiratory Infection and I'm afraid he needs a Vet and antibiotics. Find an exotics Vet and talk to them about your money situation and just maybe they will let you make payments.
Sulcata babies are very fragile and just possibly he could die from this.
Or he might just be too dry, so moisten his substrate and spray him several times a day and see if that makes a difference. He should have about 80% humidity and I'm not too sure if fir makes a good substrate, is that pine or cedar? Those are bad for tortoises...keep him warm when you are spraying him. Warm and wet is good, cool and wet is not...

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Hello and welcome to the forum. Here are the details for how I like to care for them.