Hello!

Status
Not open for further replies.

chandlerpeanuts

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Big Pine Key, Florida
Hi there! I'm brand new to the website and wanted to get a feel for how the site works and how to post and whatnot.
I've been scanning through the forums here for a few months in preparation for the baby sulcata tortoise that I brought home about a week ago, and so upon his/her arrival I've made an account.
Anyway, I just wanted to say hello and introduce myself to the forum :)
My little guy is too young to determine the sex, but my boyfriend named him Gage, assuming he was male. If time proves otherwise, the name will change.
As I said earlier I've had him for about a week now, and I'm still tweaking his enclosure to make him more comfortable.
I'm not entirely sure how old he is, but he's around 6 cm from the front of his shell to his tail.

gage.jpg

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Hi and welcome! Florida is a wonderful place for raising tortoises. I suggest you read some of our sulcata and general tortoise threads to get some different ideas on how to care for him. You will find some differing advise, but don't worry you'll soon wade through the varying ideas and come up with a combo of methods that will work for you and Gage. There is no one way that works for everybody or is the only right way and keeping totoises sometimes will seem like a constant tweaking, but the results are well worth it. What are you currently feeding him? So glad you have joined us!! :tort:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Welcome to the Forum!

Pay attention to his eyes. I notice they're closed in the picture. If they stay closed a lot there may be something wrong with the way you are keeping him.