Hello all.... Indian star or red foot??

ScottyFTM

Location (City and/or State)
England
Hello all

I am new to tortoises. I am not a beginner to reptiles having had panther chameleons and veileds.

Just a quick question. Do red foot tortoises grow a lot bigger than Indian stars?

Would a 4ft wide vivarium be ok for either of these species?

Are both these species "friendly"?

And lastly, can i keep 2 red foots together? Can i keep 2 Indian stars together?

Thank you very much
Scott

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
Welcome!
You shouldn't keep two of anything. Not even Redfoot together. And especially not in such a tiny enclosure.
Redfoot get to about 16" or so and need, i'd say about a 12' square area for just one. They DO tolerate other tortoises around better than any other species, but only if given enough room. And to do it right, you'd need several hundred square feet of room.
Your viv would be adequate for a younger Redfoot and might be good enough for a year or more. But don't shove 2 in there.
Sorry. I know nothing about Star tortoises or their behavior or needs.

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco

Pearly

5 Year Member
Central Texas, Austin area
Welcome!
You shouldn't keep two of anything. Not even Redfoot together. And especially not in such a tiny enclosure.
Redfoot get to about 16" or so and need, i'd say about a 12' square area for just one. They DO tolerate other tortoises around better than any other species, but only if given enough room. And to do it right, you'd need several hundred square feet of room.
Your viv would be adequate for a younger Redfoot and might be good enough for a year or more. But don't shove 2 in there.
Sorry. I know nothing about Star tortoises or their behavior or needs.