Enough UV light through double glazing?

Brian freeway

hi, I'm new to this.

Just built small outside shelter for spur thighed tortoise (see photo).
Put glass roof to maximise heat in there cos I live in London which is chilly even in summer.
My question is, the glass is double glazed, would this greatly reduce the UV he gets when he's in there?
Would you separate the glass and just put a single pane in there to max the UV? Or not bother.
Internet doesn't seem to have the answer.

Cheers
Brian

image.jpeg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Brian, and welcome to the Forum!

UVB doesn't go through glass, so it won't matter if its single or double. I feel your tortoise will get enough UVB when he's out in the yard, and you really don't have to worry about it.

Markw84

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)
As Yvonne stated, UVB does not pass through glass, but that is not a concern as your tortoise will have plenty of outside time and doesn't need UVB exposure in the shelter. However, I would not use a glass top in a small shelter. Although UVB does not pass through glass, IR does indeed! Even where you are, on a full sunny day, a glass top over a small area will quickly heat up WAAAAYYYY to hot!

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
I agree with @Yvonne G
Don't worry about UVB inside the sleeping quarters.
Be concerned that the glass could make the enclosure into an oven, though. Sunlight doesn't always act the way you hope with glass.
(Think solar oven)
It's also what @Markw84 said.;)

Brian freeway

Thanks for all the replys.
Surely if it's too hot he'll just walk out wouldn't he?
I've tried normal roofs outside and he doesn't go in them, I think cos it's too cold in there.