cheese?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jojodesca

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Bay Area
Someone told my cousin (who is holding by ttbt until friday for me) to feed him cheese....now I wouldn't think that is ok...but I am not an expert...how would they find cheese in nature?....have you ever heard such a thing?

she said she gave him some (before i knew) but he didnt touch it..I told her "Don't give him cheese"....was I wrong?

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Dairy in general is not a good choice, you did well. I know some people give sick tortoises yogurt for the probiotics, but it is not a practice I do.

dmmj

10 Year Member!
CA

kimber_lee_314

10 Year Member!
So Cal
I say no to any dairy products. I once had a guy tell me that he was feeding his desert tortoise cottage cheese for the calcium! I think that's where this misconception comes from - the need for turtles/tortoises to have calcium. He and I had to have a little educational talk about desert tortoises after that!

pryncesssc

5 Year Member
Chicago IL
I'm pretty sure in all of the books I read , they all said NO dairy at all , which makes sense because turtles might not have an enzyme to break down lactose like humans do :) just a guess ..

jojodesca

5 Year Member
Bay Area
I just read about the enzyme too...yeah turtles can not break down dairy and should never have it.......My cousin said she wont do that again..She is only keeping him for a week and she is all panicked in what to buy him...I said "don't have to get so fancy in just one week, if you are eating a banana give him some..if your eating veggies give him some (raw) just don't give him cheese or citrus...and he will be fine...of course worms"

pryncesssc

5 Year Member
Chicago IL
jojodesca said: