Can I improve my setup?

Zoeee2426

Location (City and/or State)
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Hi there! I have had my 10 month old greek spur thigh (Testudo graeca) for a little over a month now and I am completely new to all this. I was wandering if you guys think her living standards are ok?

In the photograph it is very bright under her lamp, don’t worry as it is nothing like that in real life and has the same amount of light all across the enclosure.

I have had some people commenting on the substrate used in previous posts, saying that it is too dry, but I have done lots of research and the breeder I got her from says it is fine. I am misting it every day and bathing her every day to make sure she doesn’t get dehydrated.

I have also noticed she loves to climb on everything and I was wandering if by adding more things to climb on, would there be enough space? I really want to get this part right because in the last few days, I have noticed her attempting to climb the walls and then falling onto her back. Is there a way I can make this better for her?

I do also let her outside in her outdoor pen for the day when it is warm :)

Hope I can get some good advice!

Attachments

• 3B46EE08-BDDA-4420-8701-B52643568C2B.jpeg
    3B46EE08-BDDA-4420-8701-B52643568C2B.jpeg
    2.8 MB · Views: 24

Billna the 2

Smoaks sc
It seems you do not have another fixture with a UVB light,
UVB is very very very very important look up MD tortoise online to see what will happen if they don’t have UVB,

TechnoCheese

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Lewisville, Texas
-the substrate looks to be one that’s too dry and unsuitable for tortoises. You want to be using coconut coir, cypress mulch, or fine grade orchid bark.

-the water bowl needs to be switched out for a terra cotta saucer. These are much easier to use, and are shallow on all sides to allow for easy access.