Bearded dragons and torts?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MayerReptiles

5 Year Member
Hello, I am currently looking into getting a tort, I breed bearded dragons right now and have a 370 gal. equivalent tank that I was wondering if it could be shared? I have seen a lot of pictures and some breeders that house them together, and obviously would have to be an arid tortoise. They would only be living together in the winter, most of which would be bermation period. The feeding dishes would be separate and I do all of my calcium supplement by hand. I used to have torts when i was young but as for husbandry I am new to this, and as I said I am just researching and looking into torts, any suggestions and information is welcome, no offense will be taken :)

Miranda

gummybearpoop

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
Someone I know did this in a large outdoor enclosure. A bearded dragon killed a russian tortoise baby in attempt to eat it.

I don't see any benefits to either animals.

Bearded dragons being from Australia....there are no tortoises in Australia.

I can see keeping animals from the same region/habitat of a country together...

chadk

10 Year Member!
There is a local petstore near hear that keeps sulcata and beardies together. Does not look like a good mix to me. Beardies looked kinda stressed and beat up. But they are a breeding group, so could be from each other or from past mishaps.

MayerReptiles

5 Year Member