Average growth for sulcata? Wild vs captive.

Status
Not open for further replies.

morloch

5 Year Member
I'm just curious if anyone knows the average growth rate wild tort vs captive. I know there are exceptions ,, but is there a norm?. If this is anywhere on the forum already,,, I apologize,,but I have not found such!

krh11b23

5 Year Member
I'm not sure but I've heard that they grow much slower in the wild due to severe drought conditions during the dry season. It is believed they stay underground for many months at a time during this period. So I would think growth would slow a lot which would also leave me to believe they may live much longer in the wild. This is just my assumption I am no expert.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
No one knows growth rates for wild ones. As far as I know its never been studied. The closest thing that I know of are Tomas Diagne's captive raised subadults that he raises for release. He hatches them himself and raises them in very naturalistic enclosures that mimic the wild release area. He showed some pics of some 6 year old subadults that were about the same size as most captive 6 year olds that I've seen.

The assumption that they starve during the dry season is common, and I used to share it. I was wrong. Apparently they drag large amounts of vegetation down into their burrows toward the end of the rainy season and subsist upon it until the rains return.

Mine hit 6-8" their first year, about 10" by the second and 12-14" by their third.

morloch

5 Year Member
Hmmm, good point. But in the wild there's also a varied diet,, I'm thinking different than what we can provide,, all though we try.

Arizona Sulcata

10 Year Member!
Mesa, AZ
Re: RE: Average growth for sulcata? Wild vs captive.

Tom said: