Animal lover new to tortoises. Thinking hard about getting a sulcata

j_diggs

Hi all,

I'm a pet lover (wife and I have 2 rescued cats and 2 rescued dogs). Recently we've been thinking of getting a tortoise, as we're moving to a house with a fenced yard and more room to accommodate one.
I have always been absolutely fascinated by giant tortoises and sea turtles, and I'm very interested in getting a sulcata, but I realize they are a serious, long-term undertaking, and want to make sure I'm making a good choice.

About us: we live in New Orleans. I'm a physician (just graduated!) and my wife is a librarian, and we are very serious about caring for our pets long term.
Is there any advice you might have for me? Is a sulcata too advanced/ too difficult? Is there another large tortoise that is easier to handle? I'd really prefer one that grows to a large size.

Thanks very much,
Josh

bouaboua

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
San Jose CA
Hello Josh (and wife) and Welcome. Good to have you here.

If you are thinking to getting a tortoise but you already have couple dogs. I recommended you go through below link first.

This is a very serious decision. Please read:

Another dog story

http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/another-dog-story.45850/

Again! Good to have you here

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Salutations, a sully,is a great tortoise.Whether you get a hatchling,or rescue one who needs a home.

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
Hello Josh welcome to the TFO from AZ . You don't have to have a tort to belong to the TFO . Dogs and torts don't mix , dogs see torts as large. Chew toys ! Have a great tort day !

Sent from my iPhone using TortForum

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Josh, and welcome to the Forum!