4 Month Sulcuta Wont Eat

Status
Not open for further replies.

TXTortoiseMommy

5 Year Member
Hi,
Im new to the forum I recently aquired a 4 month old Sulcuta Tortoise from a pet store. I got he/she about a week ago. the first two days it ate fine and seemed reltivly normal ( from what I know this is my first tortoise) and the past few days it hasnt done much but sleep it wont eat. I soak it once or twice a day for atleast 15 minutes in luke warm water. its under 15 hr a day UVB lighting at about 85 degrees. I need suggestions as to where to go from here im new to this and really wanna keep this kid alive.
-Emma

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Emma and welcome to the Forum!!

Please use our search feature and look up tortoise won't eat. We have talked about this problem quite a bit here on the forum. It is something that is quite common with new baby tortoises and new keepers.

The most common cause is the baby isn't warm enough. But take a look at what our members have had to say on the subject.

sibi

10 Year Member!
Florida, USA