Which Tortoise?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jweiner

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Milwaukee, WI
After doing as much research as I could, I am still somewhat confused about which tortoise to purchase. I am new to tortoises, but will be a good tortoise owner. I would really like to get a tortoise that might be about 6 months old to avoid the fragile hatchling concerns.

I understand that Hermanns are generally the most personable (which is a good thing), Russians are very hardy (which is also a good thing) and I'm not quite sure what Greeks have going for them :). I am looking for the tortoise to be smaller because I just prefer a smaller tortoise and it seems that male Russians are the smallest when full grown (although I'm not sure that's accurate). It would also be good if the tortoise was not a very picky eater, although I recognize their special dietary needs). I also don't like the idea of having to "hibernate" the tortoise so I'd like to avoid a tortoise that needs to hibernate. Given this background, what tortoise (subspecies) is the best to go with (and why)?

I plan on keeping the tortoise inside most of the time in either the small Vision tub or the small Waterland land enclosure or maybe the tortoise table from tortoisesupply.com, but their new table is not available yet and it may be considered too small by some. Any thoughts on the enclosures would also be appreciated. I will bring the tortoise outside in the summer (we live in Wisconsin). thanks for any help as I really want to move forward but am afraid to make mistakes.

M

Maggie Cummings

I'd say a Hermanni is the best for you and just because the certain species hibernates doesn't mean you have to hibernate your tortoise. I don't hibernate any of mine and they do fine...

Jacob

5 Year Member
California
Both are prety great, id say go with russians they are easy
To take care of, and very hardy :)

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club