New outdoor area for Tank

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tank the great

5 Year Member
Hey guys! Like I said before I'm a newbie with tortoises but I wanted to show you the outdoor area I set up for Tank. I live i Southern California so I figured I should try to take advantage of our weather as much as possible. The substrate is coco over soil and the plants are red lettuce and strawberry. (No berries, just leaves). One question though...I really want him to get some sun but the mornings are a little chilly. It's 68 right now at 1030am but in direct sun it feels great. Is that ok for him? What temp is too cold for him to be outside (even with sun) ? ImageUploadedByTortForum1380217257.208446.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Tank the great

5 Year Member
Tanks a Sulcata and about 1.5 months old I believe. Just got em a week ago from the Anaheim Reptile show.

diamondbp

10 Year Member!
Your set up is nice. I try to avoid putting very young sulcatas outside as there primary habitat. Mainly in an effort to avoid temperature extremes since hatchlings can sometimes die or develop sicknesses from them. A more stable predictable temperature will help them better the first few months until some very noticeable growth takes place. I wait until they are at least 3-4 months old before giving them a few hours outside and I don't put them outside permanently until they are at least a year old and five inches in length.
I'm sure a few sulcata experts will chime in soon with more recommendations.

New Desert Tortoise Mommy

5 Year Member
Looks good but I wouldnt put him outside to live until his about 8 months or a year old. Of course during the nice sunny days u can put him in that to get sun but bring him back inside. Its too cold nd his too little nd thoses wires should be a little smaller a bird looks like it can still get threw. If It gets to cold he culd hibernate. Nd his too little for that. So u want him nice nd warm inside

please and thank you

Levi the Leopard