Help very worried!

Rebbes

Hi everyone, I'm very worried about my baby tortoise Ralph, I was told he is 1/1 and a half by the pet shop that I got him from 5 days ago. I'm worried his behaviour isn't normal because he never goes to eat unless I incourage him by placing him next to his food then he will start "eating the air" he can't seem to get his food at all! I have to hand feed him and even then I have to place the food into his mouth while he is "eating the air". I'm worried he might be blind? I do have a video so u could all see for yourself but I'm unsure how to post it. Please help as I'm sure this is not normal behaviour and I'm worried. Thanks

cmacusa3

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Bixby
Hi and Welcome to the forum. Sorry to hear about these issues. I'm judging from the profile picture its a Russian. Please tell us more about the lighting, temps and enclosure and post a few pictures.

Rebbes

I'll try and post pictures ( I'm not very good at this).All of this was advised from the pet shop.... I hope it's right for him. Thanks IMG_3789.PNG

Rebbes

Again sorry The temps in the backing area is 95 F and in the cooler end 72 F. I do have a heat lamp for night time as u can see..... the other is like a heat and uv in one. Thanks

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!

Baby tortoises sometimes have trouble getting both their eyes coordinated so that they only see one picture. They sometimes see a different picture with each eye, and so don't really know exactly where the food is. This gets better with age. In the meantime, you can help him by cutting up his food into tiny bites and placing it in a pile up against a wall so it can't get away from him. Then place him so that his head is touching the pile.

Rebbes