Eye concern

Court562

I just purchased a 6 month old P. P. Leopard Tortoise two days ago l. I'm new to the whole tortoises secen. I've had many bearded dragons and crested geckos, but I've never seen any of them with eye problems. My girl seems healthy and is eating, drinking, and popping just fine. But she keeps her eyes closed all the time and has what appears to be white skin or pus on both eyes. When she dose open her eyes, I can still see the white stuff. Is this normal or is something wrong? Temps are 90 hot side, 70 cool with two hiding spots and a water dish. What do you recommend?

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!

There are a bunch of reasons why a baby tortoise keeps his eyes closed. I'll try to address the most common.

Are you using one of the coil-shaped compact fluorescent bulbs? If so, turn it off immediately. Those bulbs are known to cause a painful condition similar to snow-blindness in baby tortoises. To sooth the eyes you can buy this from your vet or a feed store:

Terramycin-800px.jpg

If that's not the reason, then I see a glaring reason in your pictures. Baby tortoises need to be kept moist/humid. You can't achieve humidity in a dry, paper-towel lined habitat. He needs a 4 or 5" substrate that can be moistened, and the top of the enclosure covered to keep in the moist air as it evaporates.

I don't think he has a respiratory infection, but keeping the habitat between 80 and 85F degrees all over (no hot or cool side), and covered, will help at any rate.

Court562

What type of substrate do you recommend? I'd like to be as cheap as possible.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Take your baby out every morning and place him in a small bowl of warm water that he can't climb out of. Leave him in there for about 15 minutes.