When to harvest greens

Agathaade

Location (City and/or State)
Los Angeles
Okay, I have another question about greens.

I am a newbie garderner. I started growing greens about two months ago in preparation for our tortoise’s arrival. A baby Greek, will be here in two weeks.
I grow chicory, plantain, dandelion, wild strawberries and nasturtium and am wondering if they need to be harvested at some point, or if I can just pluck a leaf at a time indefinitely.
I’m a bit confused about that aspect. I have chicory plants that have leaves about a foot tall and look mature. Are they going to wilt if I don’t harvest them by winter?
I am in Southern California for what it’s worth.

The nasturtium is the only plant that I know for a fact is an annual so I know that one will wilt in the fall at some point, wondering what happens with the others.

Including a photo of a few of my plants with my hand for scale. Sorry it’s on its side. This chicory is super droopy today...

7B786087-ADCA-446F-AD90-64E15840DF9B.jpeg

RosemaryDW

5 Year Member
Newport Coast, CA
Welcome!

I am also in Southern California.

You can pluck a leaf at a time of nasturtiums. My grown Russian needs to put a foot or some weight on the stem of a nasturtium to get at the leaves; they are flat so otherwise she can’t really get them off the ground to take a bite. So I feed the biggest leaves on their own stem or, more often, give her a small branch with multiple leaves. You’ve got a baby so seems like some trial and error will be needed.

Your chicories and dandelions are annuals and close relatives; you can also pick these one leaf at a time. They will grow quite well with water but will go to seed in the heat eventually. Dandelion will reseed on its own if undisturbed (they need sun to sprout so you don’t want to really bury them).