Whats best substrate for outdoor tortoise building? 8X12 foot building

Magdrive

Member
5 Year Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Messages
69
Location (City and/or State)
Washington, NC
I have my tortoises in a 8x12 tortoise house and I've used sand on a rubber floor so waste clean up is easy with a scooper. The problem is the sand dust up the place and is about to choke me to death. Since I have asthma it doesn't take much to set me off. I thought of using hey or mulch but clean up would be harder. Any ideas? Remember this is a 8x12 foot house so I need to think about cost to.
 

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
84,761
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
I use rubber stall mats on the floor of my Aldabran shed. No substrate.
 

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
84,761
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
I wouldn't use sand. It's very harsh on their shells, could cause impaction if it gets stuck to their food and irritates their eyes. If you feel you must use a substrate, you can use orchid bark, cypress mulch or coco coir. But I've never had a problem with the bare floor.
 

wellington

Well-Known Member
Moderator
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
37,770
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I have coconut coir in my 20x8 shed for my leopards. However, that gets costly. I am going to do what Yvonne does and not use any substrate, just rubber mats or do a rubber roofing type floor. Then I will do a humid hide with the coir. Different species I know, but same concept/problems. Also, if you notice, for your Aldabras, Greg (ALDABRAMAN)only uses sand where his torts sleep, not eat.
Btw, they look good, need more pics of them:D
 

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
84,761
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
I notice your shed isn't insulated. Is your weather pretty mild all the time?
 

Magdrive

Member
5 Year Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Messages
69
Location (City and/or State)
Washington, NC
I notice your shed isn't insulated. Is your weather pretty mild all the time?

Yes its insulated and yes its been cold this winter. They can't wait for summer. I've got to get more pictures of my aldabra's, they are a lot bigger now. Here is some pics of when I was insulating before I put up the osb.
 

Attachments

Top