What species would thrive outside in Florida?

Celeeste

Location (City and/or State)
Missouri
Hello! I am new to this form and have been planning on moving to Florida (Somewhere rural in Central or South Florida) and I want to own a multitude of tortoise species (I even want to start a turtle/tortoise zoo eventually). However I don't know what tortoises would thrive outside there. On a similar note, will galaps, aldabras, and sulcatas do well in Florida since they require less humidity than other tortoises?

Sorry if this is confusing, I have a lot of thoughts to get out there. Basically, what tortoises will do well outside in Central/South Florida and what ones should I build a special indoor enclosure for?

jwr0201

Sarasota, FL
Hey Cel. Can't answer your question, but can advise on where in Florida is a great place to live. Try the west coast from south of Tampa to Venice. I'm a native and have lived all over the state...this is my favorite by far!

MichaelL

5 Year Member
Ocala, Fl
Hello! I am new to this form and have been planning on moving to Florida (Somewhere rural in Central or South Florida) and I want to own a multitude of tortoise species (I even want to start a turtle/tortoise zoo eventually). However I don't know what tortoises would thrive outside there. On a similar note, will galaps, aldabras, and sulcatas do well in Florida since they require less humidity than other tortoises?

Sorry if this is confusing, I have a lot of thoughts to get out there. Basically, what tortoises will do well outside in Central/South Florida and what ones should I build a special indoor enclosure for?