What MVB light should I buy for my Greek tortoise?

turtel.turtle

Location (City and/or State)
CA
Hello! I'm new to TortoiseForum, and I'll introduce myself first before asking my question. I am currently still in school and have newly decided to get a tortoise as a new addition to the family. I've loved turtles and tortoises my whole life, and just never got to buying one because I was afraid of the risk of him/her passing away under my care. I know how fragile a life can be, and I don't want to result in a death of such a magnificent animal because of my mistakes. Because of this, I've come here to ask a question.

Currently, I have not yet bought the tortoise, I am planning on buying a baby Greek tortoise after a week of research. With my searches and information gathering, I've found the house and substrate to buy for my tortoise. It is currently being shipped to me, and after I fully prepare my tortoise's enclosure, I will finally be ready to welcome him/her to my home.

The last thing I need to buy is a lighting. I want to buy an MVB light and was wondering what would be the best MVB light to buy. The specific brand, name, and place I can buy it(Amazon will probably work I'm assuming)

Thank you!

Blackdog1714

5 Year Member
Richmond, VA
I would not use an MVB. A regular incandescent bulb will give you the heat /light and a UVB 5.0/10.0 tube light would work. What are you using for regular heat and substrate?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Most of the care info for tortoise out in the world is wrong. Especially baby care. Babies need warmth, humidity and hydration. Daily soaks are important while they are at the breeders facility, but few breeders do this. Make sure you buy from the right breeder!

Here is the care info for Russians, which is the same for greeks:

Questions are welcome.

Ray--Opo

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Palm Bay Fl
Welcome, great that you are doing your research first.

Yvonne G