Status
Not open for further replies.

nightoff

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
South Florida
I had been feeding my year-old redfoot chicken or egg once a week. Then I switched to feeding her 6 moistened Masuri pellets once a week. Is this enough protein or do I need to feed more pellets or add another source? Do I need to worry about feeding her too much protein if it's only fed once a week? One other question. The Masuri pellets contain D3. My tortoise lives outside year round (South Florida). Do I need to worry about her being supplemented as well. Thanks for any info. I'm still pretty new to this.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Well, the Mazuri is plant protein. I think you want to occasionally give your RF tortoise animal protein.

kimber_lee_314

10 Year Member!
So Cal
Mine love boiled eggs, chicken, cat food, trout chow, pinkies ... just about anything!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
A couple weeks ago Terryo gave us a recipe for a "slurry" she makes for her box turtles and redfoots. I made it and fed it to the two RF's that I'm babysitting, and they really chowed down.

I tried to find it to give you the link, but I'm sorry, I couldn't. Maybe Terryo will see this and give it again.

This might be it...I have this recipe typed up on a sheet of paper. It sounds like the one from Terryo:

in a food processor, I put

1 cooked sweet potato
some raw carrots
mushrooms
greens (escarole, dandelion, etc)
water turtle pellets (reptomin or mazuri)
grape leaves
rose of Sharon leaves
any greens or veggies you have
some fruit

Each week its something different...anything I have on hand. I only mix it so it tiny small pieces, not mush. Then I put it in a bowl and add some canned venison or white fish (its high quality dog food).