Western hermann?

ben32hayt

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Long Island, New York
Hi about 6 months ago I posted some pictures of a western hermann tortoise I bought from a breeder. Well some people had doubts that he(I think) is a western. I would love to know your guys opinion on the sub-species and sex of my Hermanns tortoise. Here are some of the pictures I took with an iPad, these pics are not the greatest. ImageUploadedByTortForum1388773701.070367.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1388773719.354574.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1388773748.739176.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1388773759.073069.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1388773783.592077.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

juli11

5 Year Member
Europe
I think you've got a male

hunterk997

10 Year Member!
Wayland, NY
I also agree male. But I have no idea on determining subspecies. You can check out the identification thread in the hermann's forum.

Pokeymeg

5 Year Member
Boston, MA
Male, and looks western to me. I'm not an expert, but based on Chris's IDing guides, I say western. Especially with those solid black bands, wow! Very pretty tortoise :)

juli11

5 Year Member
Europe
With the species I don't know. Do you have pictures of the parents? Maybe because you got it from a breeder..

ben32hayt

5 Year Member
Long Island, New York
Sorry I don't have any pictures of the parents but when I compared it to the diagrams posted by Chris Leone it looked like a western.

juli11

5 Year Member
Europe
That's sometimes difficult to identify the subspecies of testudo. But you'll see it in the future. Western are smaller than eastern.

ben32hayt

5 Year Member
Long Island, New York
Pokeymeg said:
Male, and looks western to me. I'm not an expert, but based on Chris's IDing guides, I say western. Especially with those solid black bands, wow! Very pretty tortoise :)

Thanks, I too think he is a western.

diamondbp

10 Year Member!