We're NEW can you tell?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortoiseTWENTYfour7

5 Year Member
Hello fellow tortoise lovers,

This is our first post (obviously) but let us introduce ourselves. My name is Bronson and I'm a college student from Sedgwick County Kansas. My cold blooded friend is classified as Stigmochelys pardalis so for those of you NOT fluent in latin it's an African Leopard Tortoise. I am not POSITIVE on the sex and have yet to name it lest it be sexually confused. : ] I think it's a female but any help with sexing would be much appreciated. I have had him/her for going on a year now this month so I have a pretty good handle on caring for my tortoise but I'm always willing to learn more. Any tips or advice would be appreciated as well.

Thanks in advance,
Bronson

jeffbens0n

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Glenmoore, PA
Welcome! Do you know hold old your leopard is? They sometimes can be hard to sex for sure until they are a few years old. We would love to see pictures of your tort. Post some pictures and I'm sure someone here will be glad to help you out with the sex.

Angi

5 Year Member
La Mesa, CA.
Welcome! I would love to see pictures of the tort and set up.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome Bronson. I've got a few leopards myself. Post a straight on pic of the anal scute and tail region and we can all play the "guess the sex" game. Jeff is right about the age, but its fun anyway.

I use http://tinypic.com/ to post pics. Its really easy and you don't have to have an account or anything.

coreyc

10 Year Member!
Massachusetts
Hi Bronson welcome to the TFO looking forward to seeing some pic's of your leo:)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Bronson:

Welcome to the forum!!

What is your major?

Robert

5 Year Member
Galaxy far, far away...
Welcome. Looking Forward to seeing pics.