Waterbased or oilbased sealer??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Isa

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Montreal, QC, Canada
Hello Everyone

I went to the wood store yesterday, and I bought the wood for the tort table (the dimension is going to be 6*3 and the wood we bought Aspen). My bf told the guy the sealer we bought the seal the wood, the guy told us it was not good and that it was not a sealer. He told us to buy a varnish kind of sealer non toxic, he told us they use it for baby furniture and that you can drink it (well not really but if you drink it it wont be dangerous) but it is not water based, it is oilbased and that it smelled a bit when you put it. The guy told us that if we put that, we wont need to put a tarp on the sides because after a couples of coats, it is super resistent. Does it matter if it is oilbased and non toxic or does it have to be water based?

Thanks

Isa

Crazy1

10 Year Member!
Inland Empire, CA
Isa, I am not an expert on this but I would think that if it is non toxic and made for baby furniture it would work well even being oil based. Just make sure you let it sit until any smell is gone, like maybe a week. Can you post the name so the more experienced can comment on the brand maybe.

Isa

10 Year Member!
Montreal, QC, Canada
Thanks a lot for your reply and all your help Robyn.

I dont remember the brand of the varnish. I will go back afterwork this evening and I will let you know.

Thanks

Isa

old4x4

10 Year Member!
Oil based will take a very long time for the odor to dissipate. I used a shellac for a sealer, then a water based polyurethane (brushes clean up with water). Make sure to give everything a week or so to really cure (outside, if you can, where the air is moving)
projectbothfloorsux4.jpg

Isa

10 Year Member!
Montreal, QC, Canada
Thanks old4X4, nice setup by the way :).