wanting to get baby sulcata

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolinaboy165

5 Year Member
Hey everybody,
Im new to this whole thing. My wife has always been into sea turtles and tortoises and all that. Just a while back she mentioned she found a tortoise breeder in our area and has been on the topic since! Now, I, for one, never thought I'd be having a conversation about purchasing a tortoise to have as a pet! Im one who's always had a weakness for animals. But the more she talked about them, the more I became curious. So I started researching everything about these little guys, and I gotta say, the more I learn about them, the more fascinated I get. So now I really want one! The past while, I've been researching more and more and taking notes and what have you. When I came across this forum, all the advice from everybody has really boosted my confidence. Now, I've noticed a lot of the owners are from California and Arizona and places like that. We are from upstate South Carolina. We get long, nice hot and pretty humid summers here and normally about a good five months of good cold weather. I would love some advice from experienced tort owners on how to care for a baby sulcata. Housing (especially during winters. We are just below the mountains so it usually gets quite chilly), best diets, etc.
How much will I spend on food every week? We are going to the beach in a few months. Could we take it to/on the beach with us? Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Greg T

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
League City, TX
Put some more thought into this before jumping in there with one of the largest torts you can find. First, you will have to keep that baby inside for a good year or two and afte rthat they will be too small to keep outside in the cold winters for another year or two. You are getting an inside pet here until they get large enough to handle the cool weather.