vita shell or not!?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Camdens tortoise

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Tampa, FL
Ive been reading mixed reviews on wether or not to use vita shell on your torts. Is this stuff good for them or does it cause them harm? You would think it would help keep their shells moist but Ive also read that their shells need to be able to breath and nothing should be put on them. Help??????

Laura

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Foothills above Sacramento CA
not, IF you use it, just use a Q-tip and use on the lines between the scutes... the shell needs to 'breathe'.
Where would you see anything like that in the wild?

Camdens tortoise

5 Year Member
Tampa, FL
yeah, thats kind of what I thought too but then I saw several posts on here of people using it and liking it so I wast sure if it was good or not. Im new to this so trying to learn as much as I can and do ALL my research before I purchase my little guy. Thanks for the tip!

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Some people use it and some people don't. I tried it for a while with some hatchlings and found it didn't do much. Other people swear it helps. One thing for certain is that is does no harm and it does tend to make them look a little nicer. It's a personal choice. You do not NEED it, but if you want to use it, it won't hurt anything. It's kind of like lotion for ladies.

bigred

10 Year Member!
Southern California
Tom said:
Some people use it and some people don't. I tried it for a while with some hatchlings and found it didn't do much. Other people swear it helps. One thing for certain is that is does no harm and it does tend to make them look a little nicer. It's a personal choice. You do not NEED it, but if you want to use it, it won't hurt anything. It's kind of like lotion for ladies.

When I saw this title I thought to myself,,,,,OH no not again:D

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club