Very happy new CH owner !!!

newCH

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
So.FL
Hello everyone,
I have been wanting to get a tortoise for quite sometime. I had been researching
what kind would be the best for my So. FL location, etc. I have been reading alot
of the forum as a non-member which helped alot.
I had decided on getting a CH and wanted to find one locally to avoid shipping &
stress. We went to the reptile store and they had an assortment of red foots, cherry heads & yellow foots in an aquarium. I watched for a few minutes to watch them.
I am new at discerning quality tortoise features, but there was one that caught my eye. He or she was going around in search of food, the store had just opened and the owner had apparently not fed them yet. He was alert & seemed to have good
coloring. It was like he was showing himself off ! I told my husband that I found the one & he came over. No sooner did he walk over the tort came walking to the front like saying " pick me, pick me!"
( probably more like "feed me, feed me" ! But I liked his activity)

He is a tiny guy, CB no yolk but does have the apparence of a egg tooth. He ate some
spring mix literally in the car on the way home. He ate more at home and I saw him drink water. He went around investigating his home and went under his log and dug into the substrate. Since then he has not come out. I did check him by lifting the log and rubbed his shell, I saw movement, so I am ok that he's good.
It kinda reminds me of when you bring home a dog from a shelter. They come home and sleep real good since their previous enviorment didnt really let them get rest.

So, I am sure I will have lots of questions with " Sheldon" in the future.
We got the lights and supplies at the store. Those turtle food chunks are something
that I should keep in his diet with fresh foods or should I phase them out ? I am assuming that is for his protein, but I dont want pyrimiding, so can I replace that