UVB lighting

Status
Not open for further replies.

CourtneyAndCarl

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Middle of nowhere
I am new to the tortoise world (don't even have one yet, infact!) and have been confused by all of the different options for UVB lighting. Since almost all care sheets and websites agree that natural sunlight is far better than any type of uvb light bulb, I was wondering if I could attempt to get most of my tortoise's uvb lighting done naturally, even as a hatchling.

What I was thinking about, was setting up a smaller outdoor enclosure for my baby leopard tortoise, with a basking lamp and everything, that he can hang out in for a few hours every day when it's sunny.

I would still get an artificial UVB light source, for rainy days (quite literally). If I were to only use this light for let's say maybe 6 hours a week, will it still lose it's effectiveness at the same rate, or does that depend on how much the light is used?

I'm sure this sounds like a very stupid question, so please bear with me, haha.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
Well, in my personal opinion....if you set up an outdoor sunning spot (with shade as well) then there is not a reason to set up lighting and all outdoors (if your outside temps are over 65° farenheit and not storming) as the sun will do all it needs to while your tort is outdoors....also, if you are not in a position yet to have your tort outdoors on a long term basis as long as you get your tort out in the natural sunlight a few times a week for about 30+ minutes then the requirement for uvb is not so imperative....you will want to make sure though to always have a heat lamp/fixture to allow your tort to regulate while indoors....

Hang round and get the others opinions and practiced and I am sure you will find what works for your tort...:D

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA