Turbo ran away this weekend...

Status
Not open for further replies.

erdavis

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Gainesville, Fl (Go Gators!)
My enclosure is what I see many people do...just turn 4 8x8 log/board things into a square enclosure. I have been using it for a couple months, sometimes I even leave to go to school for about 3 hours with him out there.
On Friday I put him out there while I took a test online. An hour later I went to check on him... he was gone.
I looked. My mom looked. My dad looked. My best friend looked. We looked for about an hour. We raked the whole yard, nothing found.
It was starting to get dark... at what point do you stop looking for your tort?.. I never wanted to stop looking but I KNEW that there was no hope in finding him as I had already looked all over my yard and my neighbors' yards.
We have about 3 steps leading up to our porch. underneath each step it is hollow and theres just pineneedles under there. Everytime I walked by it while I thought to look there. But then I told myself that was silly because there is no way he could climb up there.
After about an hour of looking I was going to go inside for a break, on my way up I decided to look and..... there was Turbo! taking a nap underneath the top step!

from now on I am not leaving turbo outside by himself and I am starting on working on fixing an enclosure that he cant get out of.
but PLEASE let this be a lesson learned to all of you... Turbo is only about 3in long, not big at all. He climbed over the logs that were the walls of his enclosure. And then he climbed three stair steps! i never thought a tortoise could be so good at climbing!
anyways, don't underestimate your tort! tort proof your enclosure NOW!

just thought I'd share :)

nicoleandrocky

5 Year Member
California
haha! at first i thought this was going to be a sad ending :(
so glad it wasn't!!! tortoises can be so crafty (and crazy!) glad he's safe :D

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!