TORTOISE STRESS. ARE THEY REALLY THAT FRAGILE

mproko

One thing I felt that wasn't brought up here was exposure to young children not taught how to handle/respect them.

The other thing I've felt is consistency. If you do the same stuff every time with the animal it may get used to it. I have 2 sub year old hermanns and they aren't phased by anything I do. I can hold them on their sides to toothbrush the poop off underneath without problem. I'm relatively new to tortoises but even with my aquatics I can tell if I haven't been handling them regularly. In the summer I frequently take my red ear painted and yellow belly out in the grass (almost daily) to get some real sunlight. In the winter they are much more annoyed when I handle them as it is moreso only to clean the enclosure.

Big Charlie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
California
One thing I felt that wasn't brought up here was exposure to young children not taught how to handle/respect them.

The other thing I've felt is consistency. If you do the same stuff every time with the animal it may get used to it. I have 2 sub year old hermanns and they aren't phased by anything I do. I can hold them on their sides to toothbrush the poop off underneath without problem. I'm relatively new to tortoises but even with my aquatics I can tell if I haven't been handling them regularly. In the summer I frequently take my red ear painted and yellow belly out in the grass (almost daily) to get some real sunlight. In the winter they are much more annoyed when I handle them as it is moreso only to clean the enclosure.
I've seen that too. Charlie is much shyer when he first starts walking around in the spring, after not being used to me since he sleeps most of the time during the winter. Now that we are in the middle of summer and he sees me everyday, he eagerly approaches me to get his hibiscus branches.

otisthetortoise

5 Year Member